30 Days of Mental Illness Awareness- Day 8

Day 8: What age you were diagnosed? At what age do you think your symptoms began? (You can make a timeline

I wasn’t diagnosed until last year at the age of 37 after what I suppose you could call a near fatal depressive episode. I voluntarily checked myself into a Behavoral Health Hospital after I was well enough physically to leave the medical hospital.

I am pretty sure I was depressed at a fairly young age. I recall becoming agitated and isolating myself and thinking about disappearing around the age of 12. I always felt different from other kids but after what some might call abuse at the hands of a neighbor culminated in a traumatic experience during my teen years my fears and depression got worse. This became PTSD and the fears became phobias.

Later when each of my children were born I suffered greatly from what I now understand was Postpartum Depression. I was 20 & 27 while pregnant with each child. Their births then resulted in severe OCD. The OCD isn’t as severe now, but some of it has stayed with me.

Anxiety has been with me as far back as I can remember. Or at least since we moved to our house in Conroe, Texas when I was 6 or 7. That was when feelings of panic/ fear/ and lack of control started. That was also when I started to begin to dislike myself little by little and I tried to be ‘perfect’ for my parents. Sometimes I would even make up stories to tell my Mom that I hoped she would be proud of me for; instead she caught on to my fibs and I would get in trouble for lying. I tried to get better at making them proud without being dishonest.

30 Days of Mental Illness Awareness Challenge- Master List.

About Christine O.

A single Mom to two little girls until March 9, 2014 when I married my soul-mate, full time executive in a demanding field, marathon runner, daughter to the perfect parents, oldest sister of a younger brother and sister, coach, boss, girlfriend, best friend, member of the church choir, volunteer in the local Lion's Club and CASA organization, and becoming newly acclimated to the world of mental illness after a life changing event. My goal in blogging and learning as much as I can about this subject is to defeat stigma associated with brain disease and preventing suicide in the future.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, depression, family, guilt, Health, major depressive disorder, mental illness, OCD, perfectionism, PTSD, stigma, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Days of Mental Illness Awareness- Day 8

  1. Pingback: 30MIAC Day 8: Round Up/Results | Marci, Mental Health, & More

Leave a Reply

