30 Days of Mental Illness Awareness Challenge- Day 15

Day 15: How has your life been effected by your illness (es)?

It’s difficult to know how exactly my life has been affected by illness since I have had them as long as I can remember. I can only knowingly write about how my life has been changed by becoming aware of them.

Since discovering that I am influenced by depression and anxiety I have learned much about myself. I have grown more stubborn and resistant to going along with the natural instinct of my moods. I know to not trust my rapid heart rate and nervousness in everyday situations but instead to learn to calm myself and breathe deeply in order to enjoy a day at an event with my children instead than avoid it completely. My girls have discovered that we are our own cheering section and that being brave in the face of obstacles and holding on to each other when things get tough is the best kind of medicine. My life has been significantly impacted in that I have never appreciated my family and friends more than I have in the last year. This has been a process; a tearing down and building back up of my being. I doubted myself in every way once. I don’t doubt myself at all anymore. I know how to identify a low mood and anxious moments.

There isn’t a doubt that the illness has had negative effects on my life. Life is hard enough without having to take medication everyday or worrying about not being able to go into a crowded mall without feeling stress and anxiety. I have learned so much about biological causes and heredity as well as the possibility of head trauma and childhood trauma causing such conditions that it is impossible to know the ‘whys’ but I have also learned the best strategies to live successful lives with such conditions and that is what my focus is at this point. Having my children see that managed in a positive way is its own reward.

 

via 30 Days of Mental Illness Awareness Challenge- Master List.

About Christine O.

A single Mom to two little girls until March 9, 2014 when I married my soul-mate, full time executive in a demanding field, marathon runner, daughter to the perfect parents, oldest sister of a younger brother and sister, coach, boss, girlfriend, best friend, member of the church choir, volunteer in the local Lion's Club and CASA organization, and becoming newly acclimated to the world of mental illness after a life changing event. My goal in blogging and learning as much as I can about this subject is to defeat stigma associated with brain disease and preventing suicide in the future.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, children, depression, Health, major depressive disorder, mental illness, OCD, PTSD, support, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days of Mental Illness Awareness Challenge- Day 15

  1. Pingback: 30MIAC Day 15: Round Up/Results | Marci, Mental Health, & More

Leave a Reply

