30 Days of Mental Illness Awareness Challenge- Day 17

Day 17: If you could get rid of your mental illness (es) would you? Why or why not?

I would ABSOLUTELY get rid of feeling depressed and anxious and make it so I would be able to stop taking anti-depressants in a heartbeat.

Perhaps it would make me nobler to feel that I should continue to suffer and fight to combat the stigma and diseases themselves. But selfishly, I would prefer to not know this kind of suffering and pain anymore. Happiness has eluded me for far too long and if it were a matter of choice, there wouldn’t be a moment’s hesitation.

I cannot honestly say I am sorry for this, although I am aware this question is just playing pretend I still feel a bit guilty for wanting to cast off these demons of mine.

Unfortunately, I am stuck with them, and they are stuck with me and as long as that is so…we will have to make the best of each other.

via 30 Days of Mental Illness Awareness Challenge- Master List.

About Christine O.

A single Mom to two little girls until March 9, 2014 when I married my soul-mate, full time executive in a demanding field, marathon runner, daughter to the perfect parents, oldest sister of a younger brother and sister, coach, boss, girlfriend, best friend, member of the church choir, volunteer in the local Lion's Club and CASA organization, and becoming newly acclimated to the world of mental illness after a life changing event. My goal in blogging and learning as much as I can about this subject is to defeat stigma associated with brain disease and preventing suicide in the future.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, depression, guilt, Happiness, major depressive disorder, mental illness, OCD, PTSD, stigma, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Days of Mental Illness Awareness Challenge- Day 17

  1. Pingback: 30 MIAC: Day 17 Round Up Results | Marci, Mental Health, & More

Leave a Reply

