‘To make what I did wrong right’

20140125-121205.jpg

My writing was posted on this website, which is a huge honor. If you havent visited this website yet…you should!

What happens now?

This week we hear from Christine O’Hagan, who writes about opening up to colleagues and others as a high-achieving Texas businesswoman. Good timing, as the director of psychology at a top-ranked U.S. psychiatric hospital wrote this weekend about this website and what his field should think about our emerging voices. It’s worth reading.

Thomas Ellis comes off as kind of nervous, but he’s trying to understand. It’s a good glimpse of why the mental health field still moves as cautiously as it does around us. “These are arguably vulnerable people putting highly sensitive information ‘out there,’ where it cannot be controlled by the AAS or anyone else,” he writes. “Or are these perhaps paternalistic sensitivities of an overprotective clinician, viewing these individuals as less resilient than they actually are?”

We tend to agree with that second part. And now, here’s Christine:

View original post 1,282 more words

About Christine O.

A single Mom to two little girls until March 9, 2014 when I married my soul-mate, full time executive in a demanding field, marathon runner, daughter to the perfect parents, oldest sister of a younger brother and sister, coach, boss, girlfriend, best friend, member of the church choir, volunteer in the local Lion's Club and CASA organization, and becoming newly acclimated to the world of mental illness after a life changing event. My goal in blogging and learning as much as I can about this subject is to defeat stigma associated with brain disease and preventing suicide in the future.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Coming Out, Corporate, depression, hospitality, major depressive disorder, mental illness, OCD, perfectionism, PTSD, recovery, stigma, suicide attempt survivor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘To make what I did wrong right’

  1. this is amazing. I can relate to every word of this. The need to keep that professional image. that is what is keeping me from reaching out and getting the help I need.
    big warm hugs. I’m still struggling with my own spiral, but I’m taking a moment to try to break it. I just wrote something and included your name in it. please read it and know that I am thanking you from the bottom of my heart for your support.

Leave a Reply

