The Caregiver

caregiver

Good Friday has me inspired. Those of us who are Christians observe this day commemorating the crucifixion of Jesus Christ and his death at Calvary when Easter celebrates Jesus arising from the dead and going on to live eternal life; also giving those that believe in Him eternal life. Amazing and selfless! This reminds me of so many I have come to know that (although in NO WAY am I comparing them to Jesus), but am simply relating the ability to fall and then get back up again to live a more enlightened, healthier life. But I’m not going to focus on illness today, I have more been thinking of the selfless people who take care of the ill. The care givers; the ones who stop their lives to take care of those who are fighting for theirs…

I have a friend I have been praying for daily who is going through this very thing. This friend knows my story and what I have dealt with in my illnesses but what I haven’t spoken enough about are the ones who made it so I could recover and continue my life when I was able, one step at a time. They took care of my children; they made sure my bills got paid when I was hospitalized; they made sure I ate and went through the motions of life when I was in the depths of my sickness. I honestly do not know that I would still be here today without their selfless love and care.

Anger, resentment and self-pity would be natural for any well person who is burdened with another person’s responsibilities. Many times we all have our hands full on a day to day, task driven existence and one can’t imagine taking on one more task but often when an illness afflicts a loved one, there is NO warning. When most people shield their eyes and look away, muttering about how busy they are and all that they have going on, the CAREGIVER steps up and takes on the load. Depending on the illness, there is rarely any cards, or meals or even support. These people are saving lives; they are lightening the load for someone who may not even be able to thank them; they are saving children from an unknown future and helping give them their parent back.

In exchange, all that we have to give many times is a promise that the next time illness comes creeping in on us, we use the tools we were given the opportunity to identify to head off a crash. We reach out before we reach crisis state. Taking care of ourselves every day because health is the most important to those who love us. Understanding self-sacrifice at work, in the home and for the benefit of others is only counter-productive. That is OUR responsibility. And helping others in any way we can to pay it back/forward. I owe everything to those that helped me save it. ❤

About Christine O.

A single Mom to two little girls until March 9, 2014 when I married my soul-mate, full time executive in a demanding field, marathon runner, daughter to the perfect parents, oldest sister of a younger brother and sister, coach, boss, girlfriend, best friend, member of the church choir, volunteer in the local Lion's Club and CASA organization, and becoming newly acclimated to the world of mental illness after a life changing event. My goal in blogging and learning as much as I can about this subject is to defeat stigma associated with brain disease and preventing suicide in the future.
This entry was posted in Caregiver, depression, family, friends, God, Health, hero, Lupus, major depressive disorder, mental illness, recovery, suicide attempt survivor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Caregiver

  1. Rahala Begum says:

    Aww I loved this! It’s a good feeling knowing we have our loved ones around to help us when we’re down and its nice to say thanks but words will not be enough to convey how much their help means to us xx

Leave a Reply

