My wedding photo: Scars and Flowers

20140508-172123.jpg

I received my wedding photos back from our amazing photographer (Composure Studios, Houston Texas) the other day and I noticed something among the friendly family faces, joy in my husband’s eyes, and sleekness in my chosen black wedding dress; the scars. They were not airbrushed out. And I saw the contrast of beauty and light; pain and devastation. It was perfect. I told them to leave them just like that.

What a perfect representation of my life. I am still here. And I am so glad me, my love and my scars survived this far. And so we will remain…

About Christine O.

A single Mom to two little girls until March 9, 2014 when I married my soul-mate, full time executive in a demanding field, marathon runner, daughter to the perfect parents, oldest sister of a younger brother and sister, coach, boss, girlfriend, best friend, member of the church choir, volunteer in the local Lion's Club and CASA organization, and becoming newly acclimated to the world of mental illness after a life changing event. My goal in blogging and learning as much as I can about this subject is to defeat stigma associated with brain disease and preventing suicide in the future.
This entry was posted in depression, family, Happiness, Health, major depressive disorder, mental illness, recovery, suicide attempt survivor, Uncategorized, Wedding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My wedding photo: Scars and Flowers

  1. lhabedank says:

    I know I told you this before… but I’m glad you chose to leave the scars in your photos. I used to struggle with what to wear each day that would cover all of mine up… but I’ve stopped doing that because I realized that by covering them up I was allowing the stigma to continue. So good for you and I am so proud of all the work you do. I’m glad you’re here. šŸ™‚

    • Christine O. says:

      Thank you! My best friend convinced me to stop hiding; plus wearing long sleeves in August in Texas is torture. I am what I am. And I am glad YOU are here too, lovely!!

  2. April says:

    This post was very inspiring. Part of healing is recognizing what we went through to be where we are—if it is done on a positive way, and not a poor pitiful me way. I like your way of acceptance, and ability to stop hiding.

  3. slamdunk says:

    Thank you for sharing your powerful experience with CNN Christine. Your resilience is inspirational and I hope others find comfort in your story.

  4. terry noble says:

    Dear MS OHagan, as someone who has been challenged by depression and who has felt despair, i found the title of your cnn piece intriguing and started to read it; but i couldnt finish it; why? every second or third sentence began with “I”, over and over again. If you will permit me, i believe that overfocus on yourself is a large contributor to ongoing problems; as the first sentence of “A Purpose Driven Life” so powerfully states, “It’s not about you!” i sincerely believe that the more our attention and thoughts and focus are off ourselves and “circumstances”, and preferably turned to others, most importantly, God, the better we off we will be, and probably the happier we will become. best wishes, terry noble, vancouver

Leave a Reply

