Letter to Brian: May 30, 2014

*A friend recently wrote a blog about the comments my CNN writing brought about. Some were terrible, but most were lovely. This is my response to her. I HIGHLY recommend her blog, by the way.*

Laura,

I love this post. All of your posts, as I said when we met, are touching as you write them in the format of a conversation to your brother. The brother you love, who is now gone due to suicide. This is impactful on so many levels I won’t go into them all here because we spoke of this a few times when we met a few months ago. That was an experience shared with other amazing and brave individuals like yourself that I will not forget nor would I want to. It was incredible.

There were many wonderful, supportive and sweet comments to my article that were far more plentiful than the hateful ones BUT I would be lying if I tried to pretend they didn’t bother me. Some made me angry and some made me sad. Many were just so ridiculous that I knew the whole purpose of the comment was to get a reaction from me. I knew there would be some difficult opinions and I also knew I would need to be strong enough to accept those comments as what they are; true opinions people have on this subject. Everyone has a right to their experience and opinion and I tried to respond as such.

I did have to correct people in that I did not earn a dime from that writing. I do not profit from my suicide attempt, not that doing so would be wrong; it is just not something I am ready for as I typically have to jump into my professions with both feet and there would be no turning back and I don’t know that is what I want. I am fully satisfied in volunteerism with my abilities as I feel it helps me atone for my perceived weakness that I have in myself (without mean spirited people confirming it as such) and also to try to help other people who are not like I was; sad, depressed, hopeless and on the edge. They NEED people like us…those that have survived and continue to survive an attempt, or the attempt of a loved one. They NEED to know there is hope and to see that people like us can thrive and be contributing members of society. Success can be malleable. Sometimes it is just breathing. Today, I am successful! ❤

Letter to Brian: May 30, 2014.

About Christine O.

A single Mom to two little girls until March 9, 2014 when I married my soul-mate, full time executive in a demanding field, marathon runner, daughter to the perfect parents, oldest sister of a younger brother and sister, coach, boss, girlfriend, best friend, member of the church choir, volunteer in the local Lion's Club and CASA organization, and becoming newly acclimated to the world of mental illness after a life changing event. My goal in blogging and learning as much as I can about this subject is to defeat stigma associated with brain disease and preventing suicide in the future.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, depression, guilt, Health, major depressive disorder, mental illness, perfectionism, stigma, suicide, suicide attempt survivor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

